Maladjusted?

A Veggie Recipe: Butternut Squash & Sweet Potato Soup

leave a comment »

Mmm..soup!

Mmm..soup!

Ok, since becoming vegetarian, I have been living primarily of soup…partly because of my inability to cook (soup is so easy and quick!) and partly through my lack of imagination.

However, my experimentation is paying off, and last night I invented a rather lovely soup if I do say so myself, so I thought I would share it here.  Shamelessly.

 

This serves 3 people if you are a greedy guts like me and like a lot of soup…probably could serve about 5 people as a starter.

It is also pretty health-tastic – click on the ingredients below to find out why they are so good for you

Ingredients

Method:

  • Heat oil in a pan. 
  • Dice the onion and garlic and add to pan until soft (about 10 mins)
  • Skin and dice the sweet potato.  Add to the softened onion
  • Skin and dice the butternut squash (take out the seeds!).  Add to the onion and potato
  • Heat until potato and squash start getting soft (about 15 mins)
  • Meanwhile, mix veggie gravy or stock to 1/2 litre of water and then cover the veggies
  • Add a pinch of salt and chilli and mixed herbs to taste
  • Simmer for another 10 mins until veggies are soft
  • Add the milk if you want to
  • Blend the whole lot
  • Serve with some wholemeal bread

V and I are currently having a ‘soup off’ (i.e. who can invent the best soup) and I am winning with this recipe so far…

Written by Lores

January 7, 2009 at 11:28 am

Posted in On Health...

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

