Maladjusted?

Giving up Smoking…help!!

with one comment

cigaretteI am rubbish.  Official.  My last post, full of post New Years eve confidence fills me full of embarrassment now.

Yes – I smoked.

The first one was Saturday night.  The end of the third (and hardest) day of going cold turkey.  I had a lovely beer and a not so lovely fag to celebrate finding a new flat to live in.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

I had a couple more on Sunday as…well…you can’t quit on a Sunday can you?  (addicts mind talking here) Has to be a Monday.  Monday was fine – not one fag.  Tuesday was good as well until I got home and V had brought some baccy.  So I had a fag.  And today I am climbing the walls.

What is the matter with me that I can’t just stop smoking for good.  I see all these amazing blogs about people who have successfully quit…why can’t I just do it?

Before anyone says ‘NRT’ I have tried and it doesn’t work for me.  In fact I have tried most methods…but one I haven’t tried is face to face help.  And maybe this is where I am going wrong.  I am one of those people who often cut my nose off to spite my face – and don’t ask for help when I need it.

And so, I am moving house in a few weeks time and I think once I am in my new area I will find a stop smoking support group.  I always imagine these things to be like the support groups as seen on Fight Club…lots of group hugs and embarrassing admissions…it could be hideous – but then again they may just work. 

I am also planning on starting counselling in February for many many reasons (it deserves a whole other blog post in itself) so I am hoping that that will help as well.

The other thing I need to address is V.  He just won’t stop at the same time as me, and because of my rubbish willpower if he comes home with tobacco…I just smoke.   Ok, perhaps I am passing the blame, and I would be interested in hear from people who have had a similar experience and find out what they do / did. 

I suppose the other thing I worry about is that I know of so many people in their early 40’s who have smoking related illnesses…V is coming up for that age and I don’t want anything to happen to him quite frankly.  Ok, it can happen at any age, but recently my friend Shazza has been diagnosed with emphysema (she is 46 and still smoking).  The ex partner of a friend of work is still recovering from mouth cancer and is still still smoking (he is 41) and another friend of a friend has been diagnosed with mouth cancer and he is in his early 40’s.

All lifetime smokers, all in the early 40’s.  What can I do to get this through to V? 

Wish me luck people, and any tips or advice you can give me very gratefully received!

Written by Lores

January 7, 2009 at 12:26 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s really really hard when your partner doesn’t quit at the same time – I’d go as far as to say almost impossible, unless perhaps quitting for you has become a conviction. When we quit in 2004 M started again in May and I held off till a really drunk night in July but then I started again too. It was only when we quit in 2005 together that we stuck to it for good – but if one of us started again, there’s no gaurantee that the other wouldn’t…

    Perhaps talking to him and explaining how important it is to you and that you can’t do it without him? Share he responsibility and make him responsible for you? Just a thought

    LVO

    January 15, 2009 at 6:13 pm


Leave a Reply

