Maladjusted?

Let me just blog about this…(and feed my massive ego)

with 9 comments

I’m loving an Urban Dictionary definition of a ‘blogger’ as:

“Term used to describe anyone with enough time or narcissism to document every tedious bit of minutia filling their uneventful lives. Possibly the most annoying thing about bloggers is the sense of self-importance they get after even the most modest of publicity. Sometimes it takes as little as a referral on a more popular blogger’s website to set the lesser blogger’s ego into orbit.

Then God forbid a blogger gets mentioned on CNN. If you thought it was impossible for a certain blogger to get more pious than he was, wait until you see the shit storm of self-righteous save-the-world bullshit after a network plug. Suddenly the boring, mild-mannered blogger you once knew will turn into Mother Theresa, and will single handedly take it upon himself to end world hunger with his stupid links to band websites and other smug blogger dipshits.”

But then, I probably have too much time on my hands…

(More definitions here – if you care to read more!)

Written by Lores

January 13, 2009 at 9:36 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My life may be uneventful, but I am in no way annoying. Just ask my readers!

    Ahh… I love how the urban population describes us bloggers. Narcissistic or not!

    And they think we have issues.

    texasheartland

    January 13, 2009 at 9:41 pm

  2. And of course, posting your own definitions onto a shared dictionary site isn’t narcissistic is it? haha.

    Lores

    January 13, 2009 at 9:51 pm

  3. I can only hope to get on Fox News!

    All part of my evil plan to take over the world.

    Otto Mann

    January 13, 2009 at 10:23 pm

  4. Yo Lores…. my reply is nothing to do with the theme of this particular post but more to do with a previous post about your father’s alcoholism.

    The post came to mind after I visited my alcoholic father last night. He lives in a care home. He is in his 80’s. I had not been to see him for about 2 weeks due to some travel so he had lots of updates for me.

    He brought me up to speed on all the current events of the world and how the politicians and business leaders “should be” running things. And why things are a big mess because of their ineptitude and them not doing things the way he feels they should be done.

    This is all from a batchelor suite in a care home in a rural area outside of the city in which I live (in Canada). I wonder if this sounds familiar to your circumstance?

    My Dad has made a lifetime out of driving hemself nuts over how everyone should live. Yet he himself does not live very effectively. 2 divorces, depression, and frankly, drove himself to live in squalor where there was no need to.

    He worked successfully as a skilled tradesman, owns land, and has a pension that will keep him comfortable for the rest of his life. Plus 4 kids who care for him to the best of our ability.

    Yet he chooses to let his little room in the care home become a shambles while sitting there critisizing governments and business leaders and religious leaders for ruining the world.

    This is part of the craziness of the alcoholic mind. My Dad has not even had availability of booze for 2 years and has not touched a drop. But the thinking that goes along with the alcoholism is the real problem.

    Anyway… when he spouts off like this, I simply listen and not a lot. And keep reminding myself that I love him and he probably did his best given who he is and what he had. I am grateful for the old guy because many people never knew a father. And even though mine is less than perfect, I know he loves me and I can at least see him regularly. This is a rare privilige in this messed up world.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    Chaz

    January 14, 2009 at 12:49 am

  5. hmmmm, looks like he wanted to Blog, lol…

    Urban Dictionary is a useless site because anyone can write a definition for any word including names.

    Blogging is storytelling, poetry, inspiration and beautiful for others to connect when no one else seems to understand.

    That person just had a bad day, uneventful, full of pessimism and decided he or she would take the time to “hate on peoples love of writing”

    He/she should try reading more instead of watching television,

    Thanks for sharing:)

    lyricspoetic

    January 14, 2009 at 11:21 pm

  6. just wanted to subscribe to the comments…

    lyricspoetic

    January 15, 2009 at 4:24 am

  7. Hi Chaz, thanks for your honest and open comment.

    My Dad can be loyal and generous. He can fix cars, he is charismatic, and he can be extremely droll.

    But isn’t actually a very nice person. It is very rare that he will offer a kind word to anyone – in fact, he is one of those people who will always pick out someone’s bad points before noticing their good points. He is racist. (And no – it isn’t ‘quaint’ or ‘old fashioned’. It is racism, and it is hideous). He is paranoid. He can be violent and he lies.

    As you said of your father – he also allows himself to live in squalor (the house is in disrepair), he is divorced and depressed. But yet he always knows what is best for everyone else.

    So has alcohol changed my father? I honestly could not tell you, as I have only ever known him as a drinker. (One of my earliest childhood memories is one of him hitting my mother during a drunken row). But if he has always been this way, then drinking has exacerbated these negative traits.

    Is this just a completely slanderous post about how horrible my father is. No of course not. It isn’t slanderous because it is true. But even so, he is my Dad and I love him – not necessarily for the things he does or says – but because he is my father.

    As you said:

    “I am grateful for the old guy because many people never knew a father. And even though mine is less than perfect, I know he loves me and I can at least see him regularly. This is a rare privilege in this messed up world”

    I couldn’t have put it better myself, and will try and help him.

    Good luck Chaz…I read your blog with interest 🙂

    Lores

    January 17, 2009 at 10:20 am

  8. Hey Lores… glad the blog and comments are of some value.

    Part of my program is to pass along what I have freely been given. Oddly… this helps me continue to recover.

    It is scary how similar our fathers’ behaviours are. Yet they are continents apart. My Dad came out of Europe after WW2 and came to Canada. Sounds like yours lived his life in England. Yet, they are almost identical with the biggotry, judgement of others, anger, and living habits.

    This suggests to me that the common thread of the underlying alcoholic thinking is what produces the characteristics. You mention racism. Oh man! I live in a city that is known for its multi-cultural demographic. Yet my Dad has clearly defined the shortfalls of each and every nationality and race. Even though he saw combat 60+ years ago that was largely over bigotry and racsim.

    My Dad’s attitude is basically “If only everyone else in the world would get in line with how things should be and how they should behave and treat me, everything would be fine. Until then, I am going to be miserable”.

    There is an analogy in “The Big Book” of AA…. let me see if I can find a link for you….

    Here…. try this one… I am referring specifically to the 3 paragraph story that starts a way down the page starting with…

    “Each person is like an actor who wants to run the whole show…”

    I think you will find it shocking how this describes the alcoholic. As an alcoholic, I can tell you it is dead accurate for me. As an Alanon family member of an alcoholic, I also concur.

    The link is http://www.recovery.org/aa/bigbook/ww/chapter_5.html Again, I suggest skipping down to the section noted above.

    Anyway… glad to know you are hanging in there and gaining some support and insights.

    See ya on the blogs!

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    Chaz

    January 17, 2009 at 6:24 pm

  9. Hi Chaz,

    Thanks for this comment – the similarities are amazing. My father has lived his whole life in England – in fact in the town that he was born in. He has never even been abroad! He suspicious of everyone, and comes accross as hateful.

    In some ways its a comfort to know that the way my dad is acting can be summed up as a general characteristic – that line “Each person is like an actor who wants to run the whole show” is very accurate in the case of my father and that link is really interesting thanks so much.

    Lores

    January 18, 2009 at 12:29 pm


Leave a Reply

