Maladjusted?

Day Three of Giving Up Smoking…

with 7 comments

fagSo today is day three of giving up smoking.  I always associate the third day as the hardest one in regards to physical side effects.  So what are my symptoms of recovery today?

  • Irritating cough.  The cough is still here…its tickly, its irritating, and finally I’m starting to cough up some nasty bits
  • Runny nose.  This might not be an actual symptom of not smoking (I think I may just have a cold) but I’m listing it here anyway.
  • Sore throat.  The coughing isn’t helping.  Read more about cold symptoms when you quit smoking
  • Self pity.  If possible, I may actually be feeling more pitiful than yesterday.
  • Depression.  Ok, not medically, but I’m feeling really low today.  This links well with the feeling of self pity.
  • C-O-N-S-T-I-P-A-T-E-D.  I’ll spare you the details on that one.   Read more about depression, and constipation when you quit smoking
  • Weird taste in my mouth.  Almost like I can still taste cigarettes.  Its odd – slightly metallic.
  • The smell of burning in my nose.  I’ve trawled the internet for a reason for this, and can’t find one (other than it can be a symptom for a stroke or heart attack – which really isn’t the case here!)

But on the plus side…

According to this Daily Mail article nicotine leaves your body after 48 hours, which is possibly why I have always found that the physical withdrawal symptoms peak on day 3, but subside gradually after that.

I can also safely say that the cough and the sore throat mean that I am not really considering smoking anyway.

And finally, I am feeling pretty good about myself – being smug and self satisfied is such an unattractive character trait, but today I feel worth it.  After all, nicotine is harder to kick than heroin, so why shouldn’t I be patting myself on the back?

So after today it will get easier. Really, what are 3 days of feeling a bit rubbish compared to a lifetime of feeling a lot better?

And if you are thinking of quitting, this site has a useful quit plan function.  Start a Quit Plan >>>

Written by Lores

January 14, 2009 at 11:33 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My 3rd day as well today,not as bad you i guess,but yep down and tired but not too bad,just tired and sleepy more then anything else.

    Good luck with it 🙂

    Alta

    January 14, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    • Hey! Good luck to you as well! Glad its all going ok – are you going cold turkey as well?

      🙂

      Lores

      January 14, 2009 at 3:31 pm

      • havent smoked till today so going well 😀

        How are you getting along?

        Alta

        September 7, 2009 at 10:33 am

  2. […] anyone who has read my previous posts, you will see that I found the first week particularly hard.  I’m not sure why that was – […]

  3. I stopped 10 days ago with Alan Carr and have had NO withdrawal symptoms!

    Lou

    September 5, 2009 at 9:14 am

  4. Hey Alta,

    Wow have you managed to stay quit since January? Well done you! That’s fab 🙂

    L

    Lores

    September 11, 2009 at 3:45 pm

  5. Hey Lou

    So many people swear by the Alan Carr method. So glad you have managed to kick it with his help 🙂

    Lores

    September 11, 2009 at 3:46 pm


Leave a Reply

