Maladjusted?

Day Five of Not Smoking…and why I am ready to kill!

with 3 comments

Yes, its been five days since I’ve quit smoking.  I’m feeling smug…yet also ready to kill.  Smug because, despite the fact that I am still coughing like…well someone with a really bad cough…I’ve gone 5 whole days without smoking. 

So why am I ready to kill?  Well – V has started smoking again.   It is incredibly difficult to quit smoking when your partner quits quitting…So I clearly want force encourage him to quit as well.

So what should I do about this problem?  Well, being an indecisive old stick, I decided to trawl the internet for advice on what to do. 

And so my options, as I see them are as follows:  

  1. Spray him with a mix of 1 part water 1 part cat wee every time he sparks up (this wasn’t an internet find actually – this punishment was invented by an anti-smoking friend of mine!)
  2. Enrol in a cooking class or learn ballroom dancing together as advised here>>>
  3. Ban sex until he quits as advised at the bottom of this page>>>
  4. Send him a card as advised here>>> 
  5. Try making him eat something different when he thinks of smoking.  Just one bit of bizarre advice from this site>>>
  6. Don’t threaten or nag.  Hmm…>>>
  7. Leave him.  Harsh advice from this site>>>

I’m leaning towards option number one at the moment, but decided in the spirit of democracy, that I would take advice from people who read this blog…(if anyone) so please cast your vote!

Written by Lores

January 16, 2009 at 6:45 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hehehehe.. well,you know I love option 1, but I must warn, it might cause option 7 to be mute as he might just leave you!

    LvO

    January 16, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  2. Hang in there! What worked for 5 days will surely work for 6!

    Chaz

    January 16, 2009 at 11:43 pm

  3. Congratulations on quitting smoking. Are you still a non-smoker? I had about 8 failed attempts of quitting though willpower alone and I know what you mean, a partner / friends smoking around you makes it a near impossible task. I blame them entirely for my inability to quit on my own!! I eventually stopped with hypnosis as my main difficulty was the association with alcohol. I even went on to train as a hypnotherapist afterwards (www.londonstopsmoking.co.uk) so it also gave me a career as well as nice pink lungs!!

    Susannah Saunders

    May 23, 2011 at 10:11 pm


Leave a Reply

