Maladjusted?

Week one of giving up smoking…yes it has really been 7 days!

with 8 comments

Yay!  1 week smoke free! 

I will be honest though, today was particularly stressful, and I came so close to having a cigarette.  I took the rizla, the tobacco and the filter…I rolled it….and then threw it away before lighting it.  Go me.

So how am I feeling side effect wise?  Well I still have this cough.  Its driving me mad by keeping me awake at night – however, on going to the GP today I was told it was nothing but a virus – no infection or anything so nothing to worry about.  (Am I alone in feeling that I’ve wasted a Dr’s time if you don’t have something serious?). 

Clearly I also felt tempted to have a cigarette…but equally I found the strength to not have a cigarette.  Its habit for me to smoke when stressed….but the thought that I had as I threw that unlit ciggie away was that “thousands of people successfully give up smoking – I am no different.  I am not weaker than those other people who are ex-smokers”.  Not just a healthy dose of brain washing – it is also the truth.  I really cannot let an addiction rule me.  Being ruled by something that has no IQ makes not real sense! 

So what happened today to make me so stressed?  Being so very disappointed with someone else’s behaviour…as well as my own.  The realisation that something is failing very fast – and may not be fixable.  Cryptic enough for you?  I don’t mean to be…but it would take a lot of explaining and I’m tired.  I’ll save this one for another post another day.

Goodnight all and congrats to others out there successfully quitting smoking

 

(final thought…those of you who voted on how I can make V quit smoking as well…the cat wee solution seems to be the winner, as I hoped it would be!  Shame I don’t have a cat tho!)

Written by Lores

January 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey there, just stumbled upon this while hunting around wordpress (I just joined up recently, so having a look) Great Work on the quitting smoking! Im onto day 2, and im already going mad, I know exactly what you mean by smoking as a habit, the physical addiction isnt as bad for me as im on the gum at the moment, but the Emotional and Habitual side of it is killer!

    Best of Luck with it all! Im sure It will be a success 🙂

    kiwigirl86

    January 20, 2009 at 12:43 am

  2. Yeah you! Awesome job ~ 7 days 😀
    I came close today to smoking as well, it is a hard fight isn’t it? I love what you said about
    “Being ruled by something that has no IQ makes not real sense!” I will think about that all day tomorrow when I am at work. Thanks, that it will get me through the day for sure 😉

    greatesthopes

    January 20, 2009 at 7:03 am

  3. Hey thanks for your messages…and glad that you found it useful 🙂

    I think kiwigirl86 is right – its all the emotional connection and habit more than anything else – after 3 days, physical withdrawal symptoms decrease…so it really is mind over matter (or brainwashing yourself that smoking isn’t worth the fuss like the ‘IQ thing’!)

    Good luck both…let me know how you get on!

    Lores x

    Lores

    January 20, 2009 at 10:25 am

  4. Keep it up! Breaking a habit that becomes so entwined in one’s daily life and social interactions must be an exercise in tremendous self discipline. You should be very proud!

    BucolicAmbition

    January 20, 2009 at 12:52 pm

  5. Great job with not smoking for a week !!! Hang in there, and yes stress does not make it any easier. But just remember you will feel a lot better eventually. I certainly feel much better, I quit Dec. 11th and I am going on 5 weeks now. So you can do it too.!!! Take care ok.

    lifesmystery

    January 20, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  6. 5 weeks! Well done you. I would have found quitting just before the Christmas period with all those parties so difficult. Good for you, and that’s reassuring to know that it gets better. Please pop back and keep me updated on your progress

    x

    Lores

    January 21, 2009 at 1:04 pm

  7. Keep it up,i am around your mark more or less,its been over a week for me,and i must say i have it easier then you so far.and yep do feel much better and the urge is down now and i do not want to bite people either 🙂

    Alta

    January 21, 2009 at 7:00 pm

  8. First, if I can help with the cat-wee, just let me know. You can borrow Tigger, who is a prime pisser. 🙂

    Second, if this is any help. I quit when I was at the 60-a-day mark, and after many attempts, succeeded by doing this:

    Lying in bed, in the dark, imagining, in fine detail, putting a cigarette in my mouth. Then I imagined that this would immediately make me vomit. You have to really concentrate on imagining the sights, sounds, smells, tastes. Do it a few times. It worked for me the following day, when I was going to have, and enjoy, my very last fag. But, believe it or not, it’s true, as soon as I put it in my mouth, the bile shot up my throat. I’ve never smoked since. And in the weeks and months after I gave up, each time I was tempted to count how long it had been, or to think of smoking or cigarettes in any way, I changed the subject in my head. Did a crossword, sang a song, looked at photos, filed my nails. Just don’t let the subject into your mind. It will work. And if you get stressed, treat yourself to something you really like, as long as it’s not a ciggie.

    Bon courage.

    merewoman

    January 22, 2009 at 6:24 pm


Leave a Reply

