Maladjusted?

Quit smoking tip: Buy books!

leave a comment »

For those who are following my quit smoking progress; another method that I have discovered to help me quit smoking: 

Buying books.

Each week, I am using the money I would have otherwise spent in cigarettes on some lovely new books.

This week I have bought (and finished!) ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak, and ‘The Reader’ by Bernard Schlink.  I have also bought the newest Kate Atkinson which I am just about to start. 

I thoroughly recommend The Book Thief.  The first book in a long time that I finished to two days…I literally could not put it down.  In words taken from the back cover “This novel is narrated by Death. Its a small story about:  a girl, an accorionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fistfighter and quite a lot of thievery”.  I could easily write a whole blog post about this book; how much it moved me, how much it made me think, yet was so drole.  But I won’t because I wouldn’t do it justice…I would urge you to read it yourself!

There is nothing I love more than a good book. 

So when I was a smoker, I spend around £15 – £20 on cigarettes each week.  That means that I can buy around 3 new books (or a huge number of second hand ones from charity shops per week).

I’m funding something I love, and lets face it – if I smoked now, it would be as if I was setting fire to a book.  Which I could never bring myself to do.

(for those of you who voted that I use the cat wee method to get V to quit smoking…disappointingly (for me – I was kinda looking forward to it) it wasn’t needed in the end.   I simply asked him not to.  As I really didn’t want to go out with a smoker if I was not smoking.  (I think I over complicate things in my own head sometimes)

Written by Lores

January 24, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

