Maladjusted?

Quit smoking tip: Get running!

leave a comment »

And here is another great quit smoking tip.old_trainers

Get Running

Yes, today was the first time in literally 6 months that I pounded the pavements of my home town.  I lasted 15 minutes, and I believe I was over taken by an elderly lady with a limp at one point.  My lungs burnt, my heart pounded, and my legs ached.  But it felt good.

Being an optimistic old stick, I know that my fitness will only improve with practice…and so I’m going to try and get out running as often as possible.

A few years ago, I was very ‘smoking fit’.  I ran the London Marathon (albeit slowly), as a smoker.  For those of you who know me in ‘real life’ you may snigger.  But I did it, and I beat the man dressed as a darlek. 

It makes me feel slightly ashamed yet proud to think back on that run.  There I was, at the start on Blackheath common.  Bottle of water in one hand, last fag in the other.  Disapproving looks from all of the other runners (I was raising money for Cancer Research…In hindsight, I realise that smoking while wearing a Cancer Reseach vest wasn’t one of the most tactful things I have every done!).  A couple of fags in my pocket in case I bailed out half way through.  How ridiculous.  But then again…when you think about it – smoking is a very ridiculous thing to do.  Paying for something that you poke in your face and set fire to, and which can (and probably will) kill you.  Its madness!

Now…I wonder how much faster I could run a marathon as an ex-smoker?  Better get out training!

Written by Lores

January 24, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Leave a Reply

