Maladjusted?

Resolution #3: Run a marathon

with 2 comments

2009 so far, has been a year of health and good living.  I’ve quit smoking, detoxed from drinking and am living a vegetarian lifestyle.  I’ve lost a couple of pounds of weight, and feel so much healthier.  (Regular readers of this blog may notice that my tone has changed from ‘feeling sorry for myself’ to ‘slightly smug’.  Apologies)

Walking the Bedford 20 mile race a couple of years ago...the model of fitness

Walking the Bedford 20 mile race a couple of years ago...the model of fitness

So, while this resolution is running a bit late (geddit?), I thought it was worth noting.

The past two mornings I have motivated myself to go out and pound the pavements of my local ‘hood.  Only a mile and a half each day, but today it felt good.  So I am going to set myself a challenge to complete a marathon this year, to raise some money for charity, and also see if I could beat the time I ran the London marathon in as a smoker.  Which was 26 miles in 5 1/2 hours.  (I never said I was fast).

I’ll aim to run a marathon later in the year (September onwards), and so will spend my spring / summer running smaller races to warm up.

I’ll try and keep a log of my progress and if anyone wants to suggest a charity for me to raise money for, please post them here!

Written by Lores

January 25, 2009 at 10:52 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, whilst I applaud the quitting smoking, the healthy lifestyle, the detoxing from alcohol – I stare quizzically at you for the change to vegetarianism. It is as I feared! It’s had an affect of your mental health… Running? Tut tut sweety, tut tut. If God intended us to run, he’d not have given us cars! :o)

    Nah, joking aside, I’m glad to see its going well – can’t wait for you to be back on this side of the world though – we can be non smoking, low alcohol, semi-healthy fiends together! (yes, fiends, not friends. Although we’ll be that too!)

    LVO

    January 25, 2009 at 10:12 pm

  2. Go on then, I’ll do it with you (the marathon that is)… you’d only get bored otherwise 🙂

    And yes. You are getting ever so slightly smug 😉

    x

    Steve

    January 26, 2009 at 12:44 am


Leave a Reply

