Maladjusted?

Moving House. Again.

leave a comment »

I’m currently in the process of moving house yet again. 

I say ‘in the process’, but all that actually means is that I’m waiting for all of my belongings to become self aware and pack themselves away neatly.  Failing that I’m waiting for V to pack everything on my behalf.  Neither of which are forthcoming if I’m honest.

boxYou could describe me as a ‘serial mover’, having moved house 5 times in so many years I am actually expert in all things to do with moving.  The problem lies in the fact that the process of moving house bores me to absolute tears. 

Remembering to change my address with every organisation I’m registered with is a laborious pain.  Equalled only by working out who my new energy suppliers are and registering with them at the other end.  I don’t have the discipline to sort through the piles of old crap I have lying around the place.  I’m a hoarder.  That’s my excuse.   I have better things to do.  Important things.  Like…making tea, or reading.

And so every time I move its the same story:  last minute panic as I shove things randomly into boxes…and if I’m honest – binbags.  Then the chaos of when I get to my destination, not being able to find anything, and also mourning the  casualties of the move – a plate here, photo frame there, and thinking ‘why didn’t I take more care in my packing?’

bin-bagWhy can’t I learn?  Why can’t I be just a tiny be organised in my life?  Is it because my job demands so much organisation that I rebel in my private life?  Or is it because I am actually quite lazy?

Saturday 31st is Move Day. 

And because V has stared his new job this week, and I foolishly took this week as holiday, it’s now down to me to finish the packing.   

Oh well…there is always tomorrow…

Written by Lores

January 26, 2009 at 11:50 am

Posted in My thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

