Maladjusted?

Week 2 of not smoking…and I’m feeling good.

with 3 comments

ciggieHas it really been two weeks since I quit smoking?   Well yes it has.

Nobody likes a smug sanctimonious ex smoker, but I feel great.  Really great.  Sorry about that. 

For anyone who has read my previous posts, you will see that I found the first week particularly hard.  I’m not sure why that was – perhaps because I also had a bad cold, and was feeling a bit sorry for myself anyway.  Perhaps because I was going cold turkey.  Perhaps because I felt quite stressed with moving house and various household rows (possibly exacerbated by the fact that I had stopped smoking). 

But the point is, that 2 weeks later, I am feeling good.  The only side effect that I have had in the last two days, is having a smoking dream nightmare.  (I do wake up relieved that it was only a dream).   Even my cough is dissipating.  The cough was irritating, but it is actually caused because the cilia in your throat start repairing themselves once you quit smoking. 

For anyone stumbling across this blog who thinking about quitting smoking – my message is that you can do it.   Two weeks later, and I wouldn’t consider smoking again.  I’ve even managed to go to the pub and not drink or smoke.  And if you read my previous posts, you will see how much I liked doing both of those activities!  

I feel fitter, healthier and have even gone out running – something that I wouldn’t have been able to do 3 weeks ago, as I wouldn’t have had the lung capacity.  

Bon chance!

Written by Lores

January 26, 2009 at 10:24 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lores…. glad to hear it!

    Cigarettes don’t like me…. which is probably the only reason I do not smoke.

    Otherwise, my addictive personality and physiology would be hooked like anyone else. Fortunately I have a built in safety system called Migranes. Often followed by vomitting. That is if I smoke.

    So… with that said…. as a fellow addict of a different nature…. I can say that the steps you are taking to quit smoking are admirable to say the least.

    You can be happy about what you are achieving.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    Chaz

    January 27, 2009 at 7:57 am

  2. Thanks Chaz,

    I am feeling really good about myself at the moment. I think that its possible to get addicted to many things in this world…I think its the human condition. But like you, I consider myself to have an addictive personality, which is why I have never tried drugs in my life – I don’t trust myself to be able to use drugs recreationally as some of my friends do.

    Thanks for your support – I think we can both pat ourselves on the back don’t you?

    Laura 🙂

    Lores

    January 27, 2009 at 12:00 pm

  3. I smoked for 35 years. I have not had a cig for six weeks now. The first week is hell. The FDA should ban cigs forever, what a waste of life, and money. I have tried to quit several times, only to tell myself that I could have just one. You cannot have one ever again, and if you do your back to square one. A friend of mine quit ten years ago, he told me he was one cig away from smoking a pack a day. (think about that statement) Good luck to all who are trying to quit. You need a plan to deal with the cravings, hard to quit on will power alone. Good Luck

    Dave Marshall

    Dave

    August 13, 2009 at 12:14 am


Leave a Reply

