Maladjusted?

My Big Shopping Experiment: Can I avoid supermarkets and chain stores?

with 3 comments

basket1A while ago I blogged about our reliance on supermarkets, and how we should be buying locally and supporting our local economies.

I am a local shopper, where I can be.  But like many others, I nip into the odd supermarket for essentials when pressed for time.  Yes…it really is convenient. 

However, shopping locally does more than just supporting your local economy and high street.  I won’t repeat my original blog post here – but click here if you want to read what I think on the matter.

Time therefore, for me to practice what I preach, and so for the next week I am going to see if I am able to purchase all that I need from local shops and market stalls and totally avoid supermarkets and chain-stores.

I will then record how much I spend here on this very blog and see if it is possible to live frugally without relying on buying from supermarkets.

Written by Lores

April 17, 2009 at 10:42 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good for you! I’d love to say I’d join you in your experiment, but Wickford only has two market stalls. And they both sell fruit… would be a waaaay too healthy week for me!

    weekendalcoholic

    April 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm

  2. hehe I forget you live in wickford…

    Lores

    April 17, 2009 at 1:56 pm

  3. I suppose you don’t have Wal-Mart in the UK. That’s alright; most would agree it’s a tool of the devil. Good for you for shopping local!

    controlledmess

    April 17, 2009 at 6:10 pm


Leave a Reply

