Maladjusted?

Keep on Running!

with one comment

On Sunday I completed the first Newham 10k race, to raise money for the charity that I work for. 

It was a beautiful sunny day, and the race was brilliantly organised, with the marshall enthusiastic and supportive, and best of all – helpful!  

Various famous sporting personalities such as Tessa Sanderson CBE and Michael Watson were there to cheer the crowd on, and the build up was suitably cheesy…runners began the race with a random mix of 80’s power pop, including M People’s ‘Hero’ and Spandau Ballet’s ‘Gold’.  (I only just resisted the urge to power pull)

 The route itself was interesting – going alongside the half constructed Olympic Stadium (in fact this was part of the marathon route for 2012!).  However, there was a bit of a bottleneck at 2km, which meant there were between 2-4 minutes where we had to walk.  This caused a few grumbles from the ‘pros’ but, to be honest, I welcomed the break! 

My overall time was 1 hour 2 minutes, which meant I finished in 88th place in the women’s race (total of 179 women runners), and in 576th out of 858 total finishers.  Ok, not the fastest time, but it isn’t that bad considering training last weekend consisted of drinking lots of Belgium beer and eating chocolate in Brussels.   Also I beat V by 1 second, so it was all worth it! 

Luckily for me, not one photo of me exists in the official race photographs, so I will leave you with this one of the overall race, taken from the Newham 10k facebook page

 newham10k

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fantastic! Go you…! I’ve never done a proper 10k race – the 5k is over so quick you don’t really get time to look around and enjoy it. Would love to do one at some point… and the route you did sounds really cool!

    As for my running, I did my longest run for over seven months two days ago – it was only 6k and took half an hour, but that’s a pretty impressive distance for me at the moment… sad but true!

    Give me a few weeks to build up back to regular running again (I want to take it fairly slowly what with having had foot probs so long!) and we’ll definitely do a run together – well up for it! 🙂

    weekendalcoholic

    April 21, 2009 at 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

