Maladjusted?

It’s not your birthday anymore…

with 2 comments

…and the will to see you smile and belong has now gone

Gratuitous use of Morrissey lyrics first thing on a Saturday morning…but quite appropriate I think.

Yesterday was my birthday, and I got some lovely gifts including some home made jewellery, a voucher towards a new tattoo, and bizarrely, a Morrissey & The Smiths location guide (and no – the gift giver hadn’t read my previous postabout Morrissey-Fan randomness!)

Last night, I was hoping to be taken out for a lovely meal but instead was taken to a local pub where we ended up talking to a couple of randoms and getting a take away pizza on the way home.  Now I’m not someone who gets ideas above their station.  I don’t have unnecessarily high expectations – indeed I don’t get ‘taken out’ for meals as a general rule.  I’m not so maladjusted that I can’t come to terms with this – but on my birthday is it wrong to expect to be treated to something more than a substandard take away pizza? 

On the plus side though (and there is always a plus side), I have discovered that getting drunk on pimms doesn’t leave me with a hangover.  Good times. 

Anyway, I’m not planning to be a petulant child about this…V still has the chance today to pull something out of the bag.  Perhaps lunch?  Perhaps dinner?  Although already this morning he has already uttered the words ‘FA Cup Final at the pub’.   I’m really hoping this is some sort of joke…at least it needs to be if he wants to keep is genitalia in the general vicinity of his body.

But I need to be honest – the reason for my massive ‘grump’ this morning isn’t really about the pizza.  It isn’t even really about the lack of dinner last night.  And while I would probably prefer to knit my own intestines into a sweater than sit in a stuffy pub on such a beautiful day to watch the FA Cup Final, it isn’t really about that either.  The truth of the matter is this:

Morrissey has cancelled his gig tonight

Yes apparently he has a sore throat.   The work-shy bastard. 

Like a badly made souffle, I feel deflated.  Morrissey, I don’t care if you are ‘still ill’ – I was really looking forward to this gig, and now I have to find something else to do. 

Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now…

Indeed

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry about Morrissey, but happy belated birthday.

    merewoman

    May 30, 2009 at 3:24 pm

  2. Thank you. I did end up watching the FA Cup Final as well. I feel dirty.

    Lores

    May 30, 2009 at 5:35 pm


Leave a Reply

