Maladjusted?

This is What You Want…This is What You Get…

with 2 comments

Or perhaps not.  I keep having John Lydon dreams…and this is certainly something that I do not want. 

The Sex Pistols have always been an iconic band to me – having formed part of the soundtrack to my ‘yoof’.  I love Lydon’s ethereal wailing and the experimentalist quality of PiL.  And No Blacks, No Irish, No Dogs was a gutsy and interesting read. 

I even watched I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here for the first time when he was on the show – and got secret satisfaction when he said the ‘c’ word live on air and ended up walking off the show because ‘he was bored’. 

But ever since the ‘butter incident’ (as it shall forever be known to me) I’ve had the creeping horrors of Lydon.  It’s totally subconcious, but since the Country Life Butter adverts started appearing on the TV, he’s been haunting my dreams.  He doesn’t do anything…just pops up in them.

Is it freudian?  Is it a manifestation of my disappointment that the original anarchist is now selling butter to the ‘great’ British public?  Whatever the reason, this is not a face that you want haunting your dreams.  

 lydon

Written by Lores

May 31, 2009 at 3:48 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lores…. I am old enough to remember the Sex Pistols!

    Chaz

    May 31, 2009 at 11:51 pm

  2. […] john lydon, music, PiL, Public Image Ltd, reform, This is not a love song It seems the creepy John Lydon dreams I kept having a few months ago were actually a portent of impending “giggage” – […]


Leave a Reply

