Maladjusted?

European Elections: Why I am not voting

with 3 comments

The European Elections take place on the 4 June 2009, and will be the biggest trans-national election in history. 

About 375 million European citizens in 27 countries are eligible to vote, as 736 members of the European Parliament (MEPs) are elected for a five-year term (European elections on 4 June)

Sourc BBC Website

The European Elections are very important…but I’m not voting.  And there are two main reasons why.

The first is purely practical – after moving house a couple of months ago, I simply forgot to register in time to vote.  Stupid and disorganised I know, but I am not going to self flagellate too much because the second reason is this:

I’m not sure who I would have voted for anyway.

I have always taken great joy in voting.  People campaigned and died for my right to vote, and I find it sad that some people in our society today don’t use this power afforded to them (but yet still feel that they are in a position to criticise or comment on the current government – baffling). 

But in the last few months my faith in politics has been severely shaken up – and as a result I have no real enthusiasm for this election, or any real opinion on who gets my vote.

Really, which box do I tick when in each party there are MPs spending my hard earned tax pounds on second houses, servants, moat maintenance, and charity donations

We are in a period of recession with rising unemployment, wage cuts, house repossessions etc…so how can I take politicians seriously when I find out they have squandered public cash on duck islands and life coaching classes?

This expenses fiasco renders party policy a farce.  If we can’t trust our politicians on even a very basic level, how can we trust them to run our country?

No – I don’t think my attitude at the moment is the right one, but I think many other people probably feel as despairing as I do.

Some believe that fringe parties will pick up more votes as a result of the distrust of our main parties.   I really hope this isn’t the case.  Surely people aren’t stupid or bigotted enough to vote BNP (rascists) or UKIP (mad the lot of them)?

There is a cabinet reshuffle later this week – I’m not sure if this is the answer, but something needs to be done to pick up at least my faith in our political system – even if its just mine. 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with you on this, but as it’s the first year I can vote I’m just going to vote green. They make sense… you might have seen this before but this is a good example of how corrupt people can get when they’ve got money on the brain: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8075558.stm

    Kate

    June 3, 2009 at 10:42 pm

  2. £5 on charity donations makes me laugh, it really does. My favourite tirade was some conservative MP who said something along the lines ‘I’m only getting critisism because people are jealous of my nice house’

    Re. the elections – The more I think about it now, the more I think I should protest vote instead.

    Which…apart from the slight problem about not being on the electoral role that would have been a great idea.

    (I’ve voted in every election before – first time I haven’t!)

    Lores

    June 4, 2009 at 7:27 am

  3. […] turnout there was for the local and European elections today, I felt very ashamed of myself for my earlier blog post, in which I self satisfyingly justified why I wasn’t going to […]


Leave a Reply

