Maladjusted?

My Life in Photos: Smelly Cat

with 4 comments

Here he is – spread out all over the rug in all his glory. 

Smelly Cat. 

When he first came to stay with us, we were told by the animal rescue women that his name was Mr Tom.  Cute, but we were hoping that he would grow into a new name.  (Mr Tom reminds me of the peanut bar of the same name).  Sadly, the only name that he has grown into is Smelly Cat, simply because of the noxious gasses that are emitted from his arse hole.

It…smells…so…bad….And it truly is the gift that keeps on giving.

We know its not worms as he was wormed recently.  I think perhaps its because he has exchanged his diet of scraps and bits of stuff from the street for proper cat food.  (I regretted feeding him the ‘beef’ flavour almost immediately)

And because he was a stray, he had to stay in for a several weeks.   I’m not statistical genius so you do the maths: 

Shut windows +  hot summers days + fetid cat farts

Nope, the flat isn’t a place of zen-like karma at the moment as I hold my breath and wander around from room to room spraying air freshener like a woman possessed.  

Only a few more days and we can let him out into the fresh air… 

Only a few more days…

Written by Lores

August 18, 2009 at 8:09 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. While I occaisionally miss our cats (both dead these past two years) the memory of their appaling farts still lingers and is enough to prevent me ever giving in every time one of the girls’ little friends’ cats produces.

    Jon in France

    August 21, 2009 at 1:45 pm

  2. Commiserations. It’s a bad pong. You have to love him a lot to bear that. Don’t give him milk, it makes it worse. If it doesn’t stop soon, maybe have a word with your vet. Have a nice weekend. 😀

    merewoman

    August 22, 2009 at 6:29 am

  3. I have a similar problem with my dog…we feed him beef sometimes…maybe it is the beef? It’s always lovely when one wafts upwards while we’re eating so I do have sympathy with you!

    Came across your blog via merewoman’s and I really love it! I also find the whole web 2.0/social media explosion totally fascinating and enthused about the idea of fragmented communities coming together (actually trying to make a fiction film about that).

    I’ll be back!

    Frances

    August 22, 2009 at 9:39 am

  4. Thanks all for the words of advice…! I have found that feeding him ‘supermeat’ rather than the chunks in gravy have helped considerably – I’m thinking that the gravy might have been a little rich for him. Also I now have the windows open…bliss!

    @Frances cool! the possibilities of the web are endless I think! Have you read Clay Shirkeys ‘Here Comes Everybody’ or ‘The Spider and the Starfish’ (can’t remember the author) – both really good insights into communication and empowerment via the web. I look forward to seeing the film! 🙂

    Lores

    August 22, 2009 at 10:02 am


Leave a Reply

