Maladjusted?

In Memory…

with 2 comments

Remember me when I am gone away, 
Gone far away into the silent land; 
When you can no more hold me by the hand, 
Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay. 
Remember me when no more day by day 
You tell me of our future that you plann’d: 
Only remember me; you understand 
It will be late to counsel then or pray. 
Yet if you should forget me for a while 
And afterwards remember, do not grieve: 
For if the darkness and corruption leave 
A vestige of the thoughts that once I had, 
Better by far you should forget and smile 
Than that you should remember and be sad
Christina Rossetti

In memory of a friend of mine who took his own life on Thursday 20 August. 

We were good friends as teenagers, but hadn’t seen each other for a number of years, although we would exchange emails and messages often.  I wish so much that things had turned out differently for him, and that he hadn’t made the decision he chose in the end. 

I’ll always remember him fondly, and I hope he has found his peace. 

Such a shame

Requiescat in pace

Written by Lores

August 24, 2009 at 9:25 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Condolences on the sad loss of your friend. A beautiful poem.

    merewoman

    August 25, 2009 at 1:02 pm

  2. Thank you. My thoughts go to his family – how awful for them 😦

    Lores

    August 25, 2009 at 1:11 pm


Leave a Reply

