Maladjusted?

International Talk Like a Pirate Day!

leave a comment »

Apparently tomorrow (19 September)  is ‘International Talk Like a Pirate Day’. 

Now I am all for allocating particular ‘days’ to support certain causes.  Favourites are celebrations such as Mental Health Day on 9 October, which aims to raise awareness and understand about mental health.  There is also World Aids Day which promote understanding of HIV and Aids.  And Peace One Day, on 21 September each year  which was established to bring about a day of international peace and global ceasefire. 

International Talk Like a Pirate Day, however, seems to be a lot different from any of the above.  International Talk Like a Pirate Day is a day that celebrates simply talking like a pirate.  So basically saying ‘Oooh Arrrrr’ at various intervals throughout the day.  You can also dress up as a pirate too if you feel so inclined.  

So what other stupid and unnecessary days exist in the world? Well, a quick Google search offered the following five for starters:

Velociraptor Awareness Day – 18 April
Facebook group with the strapline “Prepare for the ever-present threat”. 
Quite.

Pigeon Awareness Day
More information is needed about this day, as it only features in the Daily Fail, so it’s probably myth and legend.  I’m not convinced that pigeons need a day really.  I work in London and so sadly I’m aware of them most of the time. 

RSS Awareness Day – 1 May
Agreed, RSS feeds are useful, but a whole day dedicated to them?

International Cephalopod Awareness Day – 8 October
If, like me, you had no idea what a cephalopod was, I can happily confirm that is is a creature with 8 or 10 arms.  I am now more aware of them than I was.

National Hair Ball Awareness Day – 24 April
What? 

It appears that actually you can create an awareness or celebration day about just about anything you want.  So I am claiming 29 May as “Laura Awareness Day”.  Sadly I will be sharing this day with Oak Apple Day but I don’t think I’ll be stepping on any toes there.

And to celebrate International Talk Like a Pirate Day tomorrow, I leave you with a few pictures of my favourite pirates.

Avast, me hearties!

pugwash

Johnny

hook

Leave a Reply

