Maladjusted?

Big Crims*

with 6 comments

It appears, that contrary to the wise old saying – crime actually does pay.   

swag

artists impression of the guy who burgled my flat

Particularly so if you happen to be the burglar, or burglars, that broke into my flat on Saturday night, who are a laptop, a games console (v’s not mine!), a camera and a bit of cash better off now. 

I am a victim of crime.

It’s odd being a victim of crime.  Of course, it has happened before in other ways, but I’ve never been burgled before.  I thought I would be a lot more upset than I am. 

I must admit I was a little shaken on Saturday night when I got back home at 8.30 pm to find the chain across the front door from the inside.  A canny move by the ‘crims’ as my kicking and shoving the front door bought them enough time to jump out of the window at the back of the flat that they had broken into. 

By the time I had got my fingers around the door and got the chain back off the door they were long gone, into the night with our ‘valuables’ under their arms.

But I think this is the reason that I am not that upset – it is clear that the things that these guys clearly consider valuable and what I consider valuable are so totally different.   Games consoles and laptops and things like that are valuable in monetary terms but they only have a resale value,  not emotional value for me.  Things are just things after all.   I would have been more upset had a favourite item of jewellery been taken, or a momento that had been given to me by someone else.

What I do feel upset about is what was saved on my laptop being lost forever.  Photos and music etc.  A lot of my stuff is backed up, but some of it is not and that makes me sad.

The thought of someone having been in my flat while I wasn’t there makes me feel a bit grubby too.  But at the end of the day I can’t really think about these things too much because the most important question to ask is of course…where was Smelly Cat in all this? 

Well, in terms of a ‘guard cat’ he is totally useless.  This is a fact.  He probably let the burglars stroke him.

 

*‘crims’ is just a word that I use for criminals.  I think it makes me sound cooler and more fun to be around

Written by Lores

September 28, 2009 at 2:16 pm

Posted in Rants

Tagged with , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d find it quite sickening if a thieving stranger had come into my own home… and stole possessions I’d worked hard to afford.

    You seem to have more perspective on the incident than I would.

    A ‘guard cat’… that’s a new one to me.

    browneyes03 qwerty

    September 28, 2009 at 5:35 pm

  2. yeah, its weird that I dont’ feel more upset. Maybe I will have a delayed reaction. I suppose its knowing that everything is insured. Its all replaceable.

    I’m destroyed about my photos and files, but I can’t dwell on it too much – it won’t bring it back after all.

    😦

    Lores

    September 29, 2009 at 12:53 pm

  3. You’re right about the “crims” thing. It definitely makes you sound cooler and more fun to be around. 😉

    Sydney

    September 30, 2009 at 1:49 pm

  4. Bad luck. Horrible to have your home polluted by a visitation from low life. But at least your most precious possessions weren’t taken, including the cat. 🙂

    It’s too late now, of course, but in future you might want to upload your important data to an on-line storage site that the crims can’t reach. It’s a bit of a faff, but worth the effort for peace of mind.

    merewoman

    October 3, 2009 at 8:43 am

  5. Thanks merewoman – I usually back stuff up on my external hard drive…but the feckers took that too! 😦

    Lores

    October 5, 2009 at 9:40 am

  6. […] the leak from upstairs that put out the electricity in the bathroom and the hallway.  Then we were burgled, (and to date the landlord still hasn’t fixed the back window), and the latest calamity to […]


Leave a Reply

