Maladjusted?

Big Mac!

with 7 comments

I’ve done what I never thought I would do.  I’ve gone got myself a Macbook, and sold my soul and related accessories to Apple.

I never thought I actually would.  Not because of the product itself, but more so because I get a bit pissed off with the brand and it’s creeping world domination.   Also, people who use Macs are such creepy converts – its like a cult or something.

So why have I done the deed?

Is it because I’ve finally realised my creative talent that I’ve got myself a Mac?  Well no.  Sorry Mr (or Ms) Apple Brand Manager – no matter how you position yourself, I do not believe that owning an Apple Mac will make me creative, arty or individual.  That you need the talent there in the first place is obviously bad news for the Dalston-East-London-floppy-haired-spray-on-jeans-self-proclaimed-fashionista-art-types.  Owning a Mac doesn’t automatically make you a designer.  Sorry about that.

Ok, so is it because the MacBook is easier to use than a PC?  Well…to a seasoned Mac user perhaps it is.  But for a newbie like me it certainly isn’t.  It took me about an hour to work out that the cmd key is the equivalent to the ctrl key on a PC.  And I had no idea how to delete things until someone showed me (its fn and the back arrow in case you want to know).   Also, crazily, the hashtag symbol is alt + 3.  Why God!  Why!  It makes no sense!

So is it because it has better functionality?  Perhaps.  I had a demonstration a few weeks back on the amazing things that Final Cut can do.  And I’ve just downloaded InDesign CS4 on a 30 day trial and it works really well on the Mac.  I also really like the mouse pad (although its very sensitive – I keep rotating things accidently which is really annoying!)

So is it because it is pretty?  That might have had something to do with it.  After having a shockingly ugly laptop for years (it was in a sale so I got it despite the fact that is was uggo), its nice to have something that is sleek, silver and has a big glowing apple on it.

Alright – the real reason I got a Mac is because, well, I could.  Prior to a few weeks ago, I would not have been able to afford one, but courtesy of the thieving idiots that burgled my flat and the competent insurance men, I was in a position to replace my original shit laptop with one that was a bit more pukka pies (i.e. had a decent about of hardrive and wasn’t Barbie pink – yes I don’t know why they thieves took it either!)

So there.

Oh and the friendly man in Comet gave me £50 off.  Bargain.  (It always pays to barter in shops).

Anyway, despite joining the cult of Mac, at the moment, the verdict is out as to whether it is actually better than my old PC.  A good start would be if I can just work out all these buttons…

Written by Lores

October 17, 2009 at 5:27 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lores… good on you for opening your mind enough to colour outside the lines a bit.

    I have found some amazing discoveries outside the lines. Given that many of the lines were drawn originally by my unhealthy thinking, perspectives and biases.

    I am a dyed-in-the wool PC guy. Why… well nothing more than the conditioning I come out of in my education. Back in the late 80s when I was in Tech College… we used pc based systems largely because of their availability.

    Apple had not made inroads into the institutions at that time the way the PC world had. Keep in mind that this was pre-windows era. We were running dos based programs and had to type command lines such as >run a:wordperfect.exe

    What a blast from the past! Apple/Mac was painted as the domain of artsy tree-hugging, earth-saving liberals who design labels for granola boxes and such.

    PC was the platform of Commerce and Industry! Having trained in Industrial Engineering… my biases were set early.

    Today…. I still use a PC mainly out of habit and convenience. I refuse to be swayed by the brilliant marketing campaigh (mac versus pc friendly rivalry) as I categorically refuse to willingly comply to any corporate manipulation.

    The subtle suggestion that links PC with the chubby little bald dweeby guy versus the cooler, fashionable more rational, sensitive guy is cute and brilliant, but it is still BS. I will make up my own mind thank you and not follow the heard of consumerism.

    Anyway…. enough said. Glad you are still seeking and sharing and open-minded.

    Always good crossing paths!

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    Chaz

    October 17, 2009 at 7:02 pm

  2. I was dubious about buying a macbook myself, but a year into owning one I’m still pretty pleased with the beautiful hunk of pallidness…

    I didn’t find it too hard a conversion… and the touch pad sensitivity can be changed… think it’s ‘system preferences’ section… I sloowed it down a wee bit.

    I find the Apple domination… and those twunts who think it’s ‘arty’, ‘indie’ and ‘creatively provoking’ (that phrase made me gag, who would say such a thing) sickening to the highest degree….

    At the risk of sounding slightly snobish… and not Apple fanboy I’d stay with a macbook until I find a PC that doesn’t crash every minute or so.

    x

    browneyes03 qwerty

    October 17, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  3. Though I’m a little dissapointed, at least you did it for the right reasons. I’ve always said that Apple makes great products, and the Macbook probably does in some ways function better than a PC, but I’ve never agreed that owning one makes you a superior individual. Kudos for being willing to try a new thing and still not loose yourself in it. Enjoy! (I have to admit, I’m slightly jealous. It’s just that they’re so pretty!)

    Sydney

    October 19, 2009 at 6:02 pm

  4. I don’t think there’s anything inherently bad about buying stuff because it looks good. I apply this principle to wine and have concluded that anyone who spends time carefully selecting a label that is attractive probably also spends time making sure that the liquid sitting behind said label is drinkable.

    I know what you mean about Mac users being frankly a little wierd on occasion, but to be honest the major reasons that I am unlikely to ever buy anything made by Apple are:

    Price – way out of my budget;
    My limited intelligence – I doubt very much I’d ever get the use out of the technology that is there to be expolited.

    Still, youth is on your side and I imagine that you will crack the Mac very quickly. Tired old git that I am I shall just have to stagger on as best I can with the PC and the dreaded Windows.

    Jon in France

    October 21, 2009 at 6:15 am

  5. So what’s the verdict on the new machine? And do you feel any different now that you’ve become a Mac user? 🙂

    merewoman

    October 28, 2009 at 9:27 am

  6. Just logged on today and seen all of these comments – thanks for the support everyone! It has been a difficult period. The transition from PC to Mac has been a tricky one – in particular learning all the keys! Its a different kettle of kangeroos thats for sure!

    The one thing that the Mac has that I think is genius that my old laptop didn’t is ‘Time Machine’ that backs up your system on a regular basis, so that if it crashes you can recover EVERYTHING even the way that the desktop looks.

    Anyway – I’m still learning the ropes…I haven’t smashed it in a rage yet so here’s hope…!

    Lores

    October 28, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  7. Regardless to product quality, I still contend the mac vs pc characterization ad campaign is brilliant. And having run about a year now, it hasnt got tired yet.

    Chaz

    October 30, 2009 at 5:06 am


Leave a Reply

