Maladjusted?

Podgy Fat (or My Top Tips for Weight Loss)

with 7 comments

I’ve put on weight.  Not chronically or dramatically, but over the last 6 months or so there has been creeping weight-gain.  The type where you go to buy a new pair of trousers and you realise that you have gone up a dress size quite unexpectedly.

I think it might be medical.  I think I might have the lesser known medical condition called LAZYLAZY is a terrible condition, the symptoms of which are cessation of any sort of physical activity, and more time spent sitting, lying, lounging, squatting or generally being sedentary.  Contrary to popular belief, LAZY is one of the leading causes of weight gain in the country – not the ‘government’, ‘hidden calories’, or ‘society’ as previously thought.

I know when I started to come down with LAZY – it was at the same time as my project at work really kicked off back in September and I started to cut back on any exercise.  During the space of just under 3 months I worked very long hours sitting in front of my PC – and doing very little else.  Now you don’t have to be an expert in physics or Newton’s law to know that a body at rest tends to stay at rest.  Indeed, because no one (least of all myself) was exerting any force upon me, there was really no change in velocity or acceleration to my body at all!  Add this lack of movement to the convenience food yommed at the same desk, and you can see how the problem started.

So what to do?  Is there a cure for LAZY?

Well, as an illness, LAZY is pretty much self perpetuating – there is only one way to combat LAZY related weight gain, and that is with another lesser known cure for fatness called:  DO MORE EAT LESS.  Again, DO MORE EAT LESS, has been proven beyond doubt by millions of ex-salad dodgers as the most effective way of losing weight – more so than any fad diets, pills, supplements or anything else that costs money*  DO MORE EAT LESS is free, and is ever so easy to fit into your lifestyle.  You simply do more, and at the same time, eat less

Luckily, my project is now completed, work pressures are easing off, so its time for me to stop feeding my podgy fat and to start doing a bit more exercise – I’m thinking of running a half marathon in early 2010 as a motivational goal…wish me luck!

Next time:  A full write up of the Eden Project / Hotel of Horrors trip
Work blog:  Write up of recent poverty event in London I attended

*unless of course your chubbiness is a medical condition then of course you go to the Drs who may well prescribe you pills or whatnot.

Written by Lores

December 2, 2009 at 1:38 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It must be a contagious condition… cause I got it too… although mine comes as a side effect from a condition known as chronic sweet tooth!

    Luschka

    December 2, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    • Lol Luschka – you look lovely and svelt, but if there is any weight gain it must come from the side effect of ‘having a baby not long ago’! 😛

      Lores

      December 2, 2009 at 2:43 pm

  2. Nice simple effective advice for a chubby chap like myself. Good work!

    browneyes03 qwerty

    December 2, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    • Yes, this system is foolproof! 🙂

      Lores

      December 2, 2009 at 2:42 pm

  3. It’s a good system, the do more, eat less one. I subscribe to the “French Farmhouse Diet” which is a development along the same lines.

    It’s very simple: do huge amounts of manual labour (stacking and chopping firewood is a good one) and burn around 3800 calories per day. Then you can eat what you want.

    Jon in France

    December 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    • Jon, that sounds like a winner to me! I like the sound of eating what I like (but not so much the chopping and stacking wood I must say…)

      Lores

      December 2, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  4. […] leave a comment » This article follows from, and should be read in conjunction with, my previously published paper ‘Do More Eat Less’ […]


Leave a Reply

