Maladjusted?

King of Karaoke?

with 2 comments

Every now and then, V and I venture down to our local pub to enjoy spot of karaoke.  Sorry, did I say ‘enjoy’?  I meant to say ‘endure’!

I don’t know why I go.  I’m really not a fan of karaoke. I can’t sing, I don’t like doing it, and I don’t like to hear other people’s drunken renditions of average pub songs.

It could be my harsh karaoke experience that has rendered me so bitter.  A few years ago, me and a few friends participated in an evening of karaoke with a bunch of french students, in a bar next to the hostel we were staying in Le Touquet.  Oddly the french students kept singing a song about a ‘Zi-Zi’.  Now, my french isn’t brilliant I admit, but I’m sure this translates as ‘young boys willy’.  Bizarre french people.  Anyway I digress.  The point is, I drank enough ‘du vin’ to join in the karaoke that night, and to my dismay, the DJ turned my microphone off halfway through my duet (with a friend of mine) of ‘Tainted Love’.  My friend’s microphone remained functional.  Admittedly, I sounded more like Marilyn Manson than Marc Almont, but still.  How rude.

So perhaps this is why I enjoy the singing of the ‘star’ of our local so much.  (Sorry did I say ‘enjoy’?  I meant to say ‘endure’!)  Each karaoke night he gives it all he’s got, and he clearly doesn’t care.  He has sort of become a celebrity in his own right in my neighbourhood.

Take a look at the clip below – the picture quality isn’t very good, but the sound quality is…well…check it out for yourself!

Guess that choon…

Written by Lores

December 7, 2009 at 8:17 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yikes! What a horrible racket. What was the song meant to be?

    merewoman

    December 7, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    • It is a mystery to all…
      (it could be anything)

      Lores

      December 7, 2009 at 1:58 pm


Leave a Reply

