Maladjusted?

Christmas and Alcoholism

with 5 comments

Being the adult child of an alcoholic parent can be tough – especially over the Christmas period.

Alcohol is slowly destroying my dad’s health.  On top of the two small strokes he has had this year, the high blood pressure and his irregular heart beat, he now also has gout and a stomach ulcer.  And I have real worries about his mental health.

This Christmas my Dad want’s me to go to his house again.  But after what happened at Christmas last year I’m really not keen.  I know I won’t enjoy the day.  He’ll be drunk by midday, and possibly aggressive again.

But I honestly don’t have it in my heart not to go – and leave him on his own, or leave it to my brother and sister to deal with.

I think this is the weight of being the adult child of an alcoholic – you constantly feel guilty.  Guilty that you can’t help that person, guilty for feeling so angry with them.  Yes, there is part of me that doesn’t want to go there at Christmas – but that part of me also feels so guilty, after all, with the way that his health has deteriorated, this could be his last Christmas.

Alcoholism is an illness, and it doesn’t just affect the person who is an alcoholic.

Written by Lores

December 23, 2009 at 11:51 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Touching post hon. Will be thinking of you.

    Luschka

    December 23, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    • Thanks sweets – we must meet up over Christmas! I’m sorry I’ve been lame in getting back to you about what days I have free but I’ve been juggling with the volunteering at Crisis and family stuff. Not enough hours in the day even when I’m not at work xxx

      Lores

      December 23, 2009 at 5:46 pm

  2. I hope your Christmas wasn’t as bad as you anticipated. Alcoholism is as bad, if not worse, for the family than it is for the alcoholic. It truly deserves the name “Demon drink”.

    merewoman

    December 28, 2009 at 5:33 pm

  3. Dangerous stuff indeed. Hope it went off all right.

    Jon in France

    January 3, 2010 at 7:47 pm

  4. Thank you Jon – it was all ok in the end 🙂

    Lores

    January 7, 2010 at 8:41 pm


Leave a Reply

