Maladjusted?

Missed Birthday, Failed Resolutions, & Looking Forward

with 3 comments

Bah.  I missed the first birthday of my blog, which came into being on 2 January 2009.  (Happy Belated Birthday blog!)

Since then, I’ve oddly quite a lot of hits – admittedly, these are usually people searching for key words like ‘chav’ (I’ve mentioned them a lot), ‘Morrissey’ (again, mentioned alot), and ‘give myself a coffee enema’ (still baffles me as to how someone found this blog with that one!)

On looking back to last year, I outwardly cringe at the ‘resolutions‘ that I set myself last year – namely ‘Giving Up Smoking’, ‘Being a Vegetarian’ and ‘Giving up Alcohol’.  I didn’t really do very well on any of these I’m afraid.

mmmm...lovely fagsGiving Up Smoking
Well – I did to an extent.  I gave up smoking during the week, and just smoked when I went out for a drink (see ‘Giving up Alcohol’ below).  However, since Christmas ’09 I have stopped smoking completely…only a year after making the vow.   On the plus side however, V has decided to quit smoking for good too, and has been smoke free since 1st January 2010.  He is using Champix to help with the withdrawal symptoms (replacing his nicotine addiction with an anti-depressant addiction?!) – good for him for giving it a go

Result:  RESOLUTION WIN (points deducted for late completion)

Giving up Alcohol
This resolution lasted all of about 5 minutes.  I have considerably lowered the amount that I drink – I’ll probably have about 5 or 6 units per week on a usual week, (although I am still known to have a blow out now and then).

Result: RESOLUTION FAIL

Becoming Vegetarian
Pigsno-brainer.  I enjoy meat too much, and I believe that humans are designed to eat meat…although, I will admit that I only really have meat once or maybe twice per week.  The rest of the time I am living a vegetarian lifestyle.  In the end, I decided to switch the focus to buying very good quality meat – organic free range, straight from the farm (no mass produced GM green house emitting mank for me ).  As this is more expensive, I eat less of it – but when I do its really ‘bootiful’ (as Bernard Matthews might say)

Result: RESOLUTION FAIL

I am clearly massively rubbish at keeping to resolutions…but undeterred here are my resolutions for 2010:

  • Get back to a decent level of fitness – Did you know that in 2006 I ran the London Marathon?  Hard to believe, as, since that point I have been doing very little running or training.  In 2010 I aim to run at least one half marathon.
  • Try something new – I’ve been stagnating this last year, and its about time I did something new, went somewhere different, learnt a new skill
  • Taking time – I often find that I don’t have the time to do the things that I want to or should do.  Things like calling relatives, visiting friends, painting a picture.  This year is going to be my year to turn the TV off, shut the laptop and realise that there is a world beyond work and dicking around doing nothing.

I think these resolutions will be easier to keep…

Written by Lores

January 11, 2010 at 5:40 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think you should get points deducted for late completion at all! You’ve done amazingly well to give up, and who said it had to be done straight away?? You promised yourself you’d do something, and something you have done. Win! 🙂 x

    weekendalcoholic

    January 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm

  2. Aw…thanks chuckles! x

    Lores

    January 20, 2010 at 7:58 am

  3. I like the ‘visit friends more’ bit. But then, who am I to talk? *sigh*

    Luschka

    January 26, 2010 at 11:00 pm


Leave a Reply

