Maladjusted?

The Road: A quick review

with 2 comments

The Road is a film about the journey of a father (Viggo Mortensen) and son (Kodi Smit-McPhee) through post apocalyptic America, dodging cannibals, thieves and murderers on their journey south.

It is very well acted but my God, is it bleak.  Bleaker than the bleakest thing you can think of.  The bleakness is only offset slightly by the slighting nauseating one liners throughout such as “carry the fire within you” (The Man) or “we are still the good guys aren’t we papa?” (The Boy).

I suppose it was a gritty portrayal of a father and son’s love in a struggle for survival in a world that doesn’t care.  But I couldn’t help wondering – why would you bother trying to survive in a world where there is hardly any food, there are no plants or trees, ‘no birds do sing’ and every other person you encounter is a cannibal intend on ending your miserable and hungry life.

Personally, I’d just do myself in.

As you can tell – this film just failed to move me as it did other people.

While V blubbed like a fat kid who’s had his cake taken away, I was just left a little disappointed in my own cynism, and also that I hadn’t waited for the DVD

Written by Lores

January 20, 2010 at 6:18 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Did you see Viggo in the nude fight scene in Eastern Promises? Ouf!

    merewoman

    January 24, 2010 at 11:33 am

  2. Well – I won’t be rushing off to see that then :op

    Luschka

    January 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm


Leave a Reply

