Maladjusted?

Green Fingers?

with one comment

Around a year ago I blogged about boycotting supermarkets and trying to buy only fresh local produce.  This was actually easier said than done in London, however, now that I am back in the wilderness of Essex (well, Leigh on Sea!) it is easier to put my plan into action.

Leigh on Sea has a whole plethora of local shops and businesses such as cafes, green grocers, bakers and butchers, with freshly caught fish and seafood available from the harbour at Old Leigh. So I think it really will be possible to get by without lining the pockets of the major supermarket chains.  (And to support my local community at the same time).

And also, because I now have a small garden, I have no excuse not to try and grow some of my own fruit and veg as well.

Now, I am not a naturally green fingered person at all.  Although I have  already successfully started a window ledge herb garden, unfortunately I also have the uncanny ability to kill some of the hardiest plants known to man.  Such as bamboo – something that I thought that was near impossible.

However, I am not deterred by my plant killing abilities, my ignorance when it comes to gardening, nor the fact that the back garden is actually a courtyard with only a soil border around the edge.

I have the tools that I need:

  • A trowel
  • A bag of compost
  • A compost bin (being picked up in a few days from garden centre)
  • A mini greenhouse (ditto)
  • Seeds of the tomato, the cucumber, the carrot, the strawberry, and the red onion to get started.

All I need to do now is seek the knowledge that I need!

I’ll keep this blog updated with my progress…

Written by Lores

February 21, 2010 at 7:11 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I seem to remember I commented on how hard it would be for me to shop locally as there aren’t any shops in wickford! It got worse – Somerfield have now stopped selling even fresh thyme and rosemary! What’s a guy to do?!

    If you get an excess, I want to buy your herbs! lol x

    weekendalcoholic

    March 5, 2010 at 11:41 am


Leave a Reply

