Maladjusted?

Cake Fixation

with 3 comments

I have a cake fixation.  I cannot pass a bakery without stopping to stare (and sometimes drool) at the cakes in the window.  I have also been known to take photos on occasion – that’s how bad it is.

However, I enjoy looking at cake much more than I enjoy eating it. This might sound crazy, but it makes perfect sense to me.

When I look at attractive cake I cannot help imagining how delicious it would be.  How sweet the marzipan will be, how moist the sponge, how succulent the filling. I imagine it to be the most exquisite thing I could ever taste.  The chocolate would be so chocolately, the lemon would be so zingy, the strawberries would be so luscious.  That cake would be THE cake that would render all other cakes obsolete.

Yet, every cake I have ever tried has always fallen short of the expectation created by my imagination. It hasn’t tasted quite as I sort of hoped that it would do.  So now I find that I enjoy looking at cake more often than I enjoy eating it.

The reality is so much more disappointing than the dream.

Sadly, I think this could also be a metaphor for my whole life.

Written by Lores

March 7, 2010 at 3:35 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know what you mean. I have often been very disappointed with French cakes, particularly those with lots of fruit on top. There always seems to be an underlying bitter taste to the fruit, combined with a too-sweet taste and the two do not marry well. Often the choux pastry is dry and not sweet enough. The only ones that never disappoint are macarons. They are always lubbly.

    Generally I find home-made cakes tastier than commercially produced ones. If you haven’t tried Nigella Lawson’s clementine cake it tastes fabulous, and so does wacky chocolate cake especially if you put a 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder in it. http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,176,150174-248198,00.html

    But blue icing – yuk. That is not a natural colour for a cake or indeed for any food!

    merewoman

    March 7, 2010 at 4:26 pm

  2. I totally agree – the blue cake was the first one I found on google images 😛

    Agree re. home made cake, however I have an uncanny ability to make all my cakes turn out as biscuit. Not sure what I do wrong 😦

    Thanks for the recipe link all the same! I’ll give it a whirl if I’m feeling adventurous! 🙂

    Lores

    March 8, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  3. Wow that’s some deep cake thinking girls! I for one am quite impressed your with your ability to turn out a biscuit and, martyr that I am, I would be willing to dispose of any unwanted biscuits you cared to pass my way…

    weekendalcoholic

    March 9, 2010 at 5:46 pm


Leave a Reply

