Maladjusted?

Plotting my escape

with 2 comments

It is time for change, (and not ‘change’ as in loose coins).   A change of scenery, a change of situation, a change of gear (and not ‘gear’ as in clothing)

I’m taking a couple of weeks off in April to do a little bit of pottering about.  I intend to potter over to Europe for a bit, to visit some friends (couch surfing!), and generally mooch about.  All on a shoestring I might add, as I’m stoney broke.

So far on my ‘hit list’ are;

Bruges – because I haven’t been there, but it looks absolutely beautiful.  Also, I believe that if I hang around the main square for long enough then I may bump into Colin Farrell’s character from the film ‘In Bruges‘ (which really wasn’t that bad a film).  Actually I may prefer to bump into Ralph Fiennes rather than Colin Farrell…but I digress.

From Bruges I’ll take the train (via Brussels) to Luxembourg, where a friend of mine lives (whom I haven’t seen for 5 years)  Luxembourg is one of those places that you probably wouldn’t go to unless you actually knew someone.  I can’t imagine there is a lot to do there, so I’m expecting to drink a lot of beer.

From Luxembourg I have a couple of options.  I may head into Deutschland for a day, or I may head up to the Ardennes (home of pate)  and stay in a youth hostel.  I think it really depends on how my money goes at this stage.

Ultimately though, after this stage of the jaunt, I’ll take the train to Paris to visit some friends who moved there last year, and also drop in on the ex boyfriend to see how he is doing.

And from Paris, the Eurostar back to Blighty.

I think that should be time enough to blow away the cobwebs.  I don’t mind travelling on my own really, I don’t fear my own company and I am more than able to idle away time.  However it will be jolly nice to see old friends and do something a bit different.

Written by Lores

March 10, 2010 at 10:43 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can I put in a vote for Antwerp over Bruges? I used to live nearby and Antwerp is a far more interesting place, though not as chocolate-box pretty, I’ll admit.

    If you felt like nipping over the boarder to the Netherlands, Breda is delightful.

    Jon in France

    March 10, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  2. Thanks Jon, I’ll take a look into both of those places. I’ve never heard of Breda before…looks like at this rate I’ll need more than two weeks for this 🙂

    Lores

    March 10, 2010 at 1:36 pm


Leave a Reply

