Maladjusted?

Awards! Awards for EVERYBODY! (or – Why I Read the Blogs that I do)

with 5 comments

I was delighted and joyed to receive a Sunshine Award from Merewoman of No Damn Blog recently, which appears to have been awarded mainly for the fact that I wanted to be a pony when I grew up.

But, an award is an award – even if it has been awarded for my childhood craziness – and I’m supposed to now share the love and pay it forward.  So, at the risk of sounding like a hideous sycophant, here are a list of 10 notable bloggers that I think are fab and why.

In no particular order:

Weekend Alcoholic
This is the blog of a friend of mine known in ‘real life’, and it is very funny indeed.  (I have to say that or he’ll beat me up).  Particularly notable are his thoughts on the man hug – apparently, more thought goes into this than you might think.

No Damn Blog
A blogful of stunning phots, musings and observations from ‘Merewoman’ – a writer living in rural France.  This blog brings me joy mainly for the delightful anecdotes and stories, and of course Wednesday Word which proves that every day, is indeed, a school day.

Profound Insanity
The philosophies of Neggz are very profound, very insane, but always amusing.  A recent discovery via Weekend Alcoholic‘s blog, his observations bring me cheer.

C4rousel
Kate is another person I know in ‘real life’, and writes some amazingly ranting blog posts.  Very very funny.  I my faves are her rant against the espadrille, and also her thoughtful review about the TV show Glee.  Proper job.

Chaz’s Journey Back
Chaz is recovering from booze, drugs, divorce and depression.  I started reading this blog to get some insight as my father is an alcoholic, and my mother is a recovered alcoholic.  Chaz has wise words.

Enduring Art
I like this one because the author is a bit of a misery guts (although he will probably contend this), and as you may have gathered, I enjoy reading the rantage of cranky people.

I’m not Cynical, I’ve just been taking notes
The America based author Sydney hasn’t updated this for quite a while, but I enjoy reading her musings and observations when she does 🙂

France and the Unknown
I was introduced to this blog via No Damn Blog – I like it because it is a great ‘feel good’ blog, written by an English woman living in France.  She gave up the rat-race to rescue animals.  What a lovely person.

TobyTheTeacher
Yet another ‘real life’ friend, and yet another person who hardly updates their blog.  I like Toby’s blog because not only is it humorous, but it is also designed to improve the reader’s grasp of the English language and grammar.  Which is fab for speakers of languages other than English.  Or numpty’s like me.

The Vendee Blog
Another that I found out about via No Damn Blog – and fellow Sunshine Award Winner.  I am particularly enjoying Jon’s The Night of the Radish yarn.

Diary of a First Child
Sort of says what it does on the tin!  This is the blog of another ‘real life’ friend (one of my besties), and mother of Kyra (just about the cutest little button ever), and her practical, eco-friendly, and touching advice for new mother’s everywhere.  Also she features some delicious recipes that everyone should try.

I have spoken

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on your award.

    Slamdunk

    March 15, 2010 at 12:28 pm

  2. Aw thanks hun… ‘in no particular order’ – you could have left that line out, then I would have been first! he he 🙂 x

    weekendalcoholic

    March 18, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    • Aw…well you can ignore that line if you like 🙂 x

      Lores

      March 18, 2010 at 9:28 pm

  3. Just catching up on your blog and came across this post – wow – thanks so much for the award I’m really chuffed!!

    frances

    March 22, 2010 at 8:29 am

    • You are very welcome!

      Lores

      March 22, 2010 at 9:22 pm


Leave a Reply

