Maladjusted?

Running FAIL

with 3 comments

This is a public health warning, and also a direct response to the running joy chronicled my friend Steve over at Blood, Sweat and Running Shoes

Running is hazardous.  To the health and the ego. 

I am supposed to be training for a half marathon in June 2010, the same half marathon as Steve (or Mr BSRS) is successfully training for.  However, unlike Mr BSRS, I’m a lazy slattern who doesn’t believe in exercise when I actually have to do it. 

Conversely however, I am also an extremely competitive individual, and the thought of a friend of mine completing while I bail out, is almost too much for me to bear. 

So, on Wednesday evening – worried by thoughts of failure, and guilt tripped by the BSRS blog – I managed to squeeze my corpulent frame into a my running gear and out onto the street to attempt (what is known in the trade as) a ‘training run’.

I was doing well – very well in fact – for the first half a mile at least, until I tripped over something and became rather vertically challenged.  Who knows what I tripped on – it was dark. It could have been a stone or a bit of kerb, or perhaps it was own fat feet, but all I do know is that one minute I was feeling quietly smug at my exercise prowess, and the next I was eating gravel. 

As I limped home with a grazed elbow, two grazed hands, two grazed and bruised knees, and dented dignity, I couldn’t help but feel that I would have been better off staying at home with a cup of tea and a bit of cake.  (And I also wondered if this is what my friend meant when he named his blog ‘Blood, Sweat and Running Shoes’)

So Steve – matey – you can keep the moral highground…go on…keep it…while I try and work out a way that I can  finish this 13 mile race – while not necessarily faster than you – at least in one piece…

Written by Lores

March 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha ha! It’s not supposed to be a competition…! I just happen to think I look rather good in lycra shorts and so take every opportunity to wear them… 🙂

    Sorry to hear about the massive stack though hun, hope you heal up soon.

    As an aside, I’ve actually kind of stopped using that blog and I’m logging everything at http://www.dailymile.com/people/SteveW81#ref=tophd

    It’s much easier to keep track of what you’re doing, and has lots of handy tools like a calculator which works out how many donuts you’ve burned off (19.56 since the 13th March!).

    Keep running hun x

    weekendalcoholic

    March 26, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    • Oooh that’s a good site…*toddles off to join* x

      Lores

      March 27, 2010 at 10:33 am

  2. […] a direct response to my last post, and as a way to publicly humiliate myself keep tabs on my training progress, Mr BSRS has […]


Leave a Reply

