Maladjusted?

Well Hung…

with 6 comments

No, this isn’t a post about ‘packed lunch boxes’ – this is the fact that after weeks of speculation and media hype, we wake to a hung parliament here the UK for the first time since 1974.   What an anti-climax.

As I understand it, a hung parliament basically means that none of the political parties can secure a majority in their own right, and so must form a coalition with another party to give them the majority.   For example, Labour will most likely  seek to form a coalition with the Liberal Democrats, as will the Tories who will also look to form a coalition with the Democratic Unionists to give them the majority.

Personally, I can’t see this coalition process being a straightforward one – there are far too many egos in British politics, I think it will be days before this is sorted. However, I do like the idea on the Newsbiscuit website of a three-way houseshare at Number10.

One sad reflection on the election process here is that hundreds of people were turned away from polling stations around the country and were unable to cast their vote, which has caused outrage among voters – and rightly so.  (However, there is part of me that thinks that, to be fair, the polling stations were open from 7am until 10pm, which begs the question ‘what were people doing all day’?)

On the plus side however, I was hearted to see that the Green Party have won their first ever seat, with Caroline Lucas becoming the first Green Party MP, and the British National Party (i.e. Nazis) didn’t win a single seat in parliament…thus proving that the British voters aren’t that ill-informed after all.

So what will happen next?  Will there be a Lib-Lab coalition?  Will Gordon Brown resign?  Will David Cameron win over Nick Clegg?  Who knows!

Give ’em enough rope that’s what I say…

Written by Lores

May 7, 2010 at 9:50 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coalitions aren’t all bad news: most of Europe functions with them. Well, most of the time.

    Jon in France

    May 7, 2010 at 3:04 pm

  2. I’ve been wondering if a ‘hung parliament’ had anything to do with real ropes myself… we can only hope, huh? ;o)

    Patworkgirl

    May 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    • haha – I’m sure there’s more than handful of people who would like to see a good lynching!

      Lores

      May 12, 2010 at 10:34 am

  3. Shame I can’t spell my own name, isn’t it!? Don’t sign me up for the re-vote…!!

    Patchworkgirl

    May 7, 2010 at 4:07 pm

  4. From their body language, I imagine that Clegg and Cameron are both quite well hung. And Brown should be hung (or rather hanged). No particular reason, but I just don’t like him or his attitude. 🙂

    merewoman

    May 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    • Aw…I felt a little sad for GB in his resignation speech. Although I’m sure that won’t last.

      I think Tories by birth are born without the necessary tackle to be ‘well hung’… (no offence intended – just not a fan of the Conservative party!)

      Lores

      May 12, 2010 at 10:35 am


Leave a Reply

