Maladjusted?

No more Sex. No more City.

with 9 comments

Am I alone in feeling immense Sex and the City related rage at the moment?  Each time I see the trailer or an advert for the new film ‘Sex in the City 2’, I either feel like hurling things or vomiting blood.

It’s not just because I think the whole Sex in the City brand portrays women as vacuous idiots obsessed with clothes, men, and money.  It’s not even just because I think that programmes and films such as this help lift the expectations of modern young women to unattainably high levels, where success and beauty are measured only by material wealth and how attractive you are to the opposite sex.

It is both of these things, and also that it just looks shit.  So shit in fact that I am having difficulty believing that the Sarah Jessica Parker (transvestite or no?) and the rest of the harridans aren’t actually animated pieces of shit with eyes and teeth.

I haven’t actually been able to watch the whole trailer all the way through without grinding my teeth and tearing my hair, but the premise for this film seems to be that SJP and gang are all in Egypt / some other desert area, where they wear stupid hats and are passed around like currency by the rich adoring men folk.

Now, I know a lot of people seem to think that Sex in the City is ‘empowering’ for modern women…well, if this is ‘empowerment’ then Emily Pankhurst will be spinning in her grave.

And from what I gather from the trailer, they aren’t even in the city!  Although, to be fair there is sex.  And perhaps watching four Moet-fuelled female hump-engines prance around in revolting dresses and shagging all and sundry could be pretty arousing.  Well, at least to the sort of people who enjoy intercourse with middle aged horses of course.

Anyway, I seem to be the only one who would rather knit their own intestines into a sweater than be subjected to this banal rubbish.  Everything else seems to be ‘Sex in the City mad!’…TV / radio adverts are cashing in on the hype, magazines are waxing lyrical about it, and shops are using the Sex and the City brand to flog anything from cereal to lipstick.

Grrr.

It is driving me mad, and suffice to say (and if you haven’t picked up the sarcastic and rageful undertones to this blog post) this film is not going on my ‘ones to watch’ list.

</rant>

Written by Lores

June 2, 2010 at 9:55 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re not alone… after you with the knitting needles!

    Patchworkgirl

    June 2, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    • Knitting needles to poke your own eyes out lest you are forced to watch the film?? 😛

      Lores

      June 3, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  2. A girl I used to be friends with is a huge fan of SATC.
    There was a time when her Facebook profile said something like… “I want to be the high-powered career women that intimidates men, going home to a NYC apartment and a wardrobe of Chanel”

    Its ironic that a show about ‘beautiful, successful & intelligent women being independent in the city’ or however they describe it attracts girls that impressionable and desperate.

    I feel your pain… I can picture your face the first time you saw said advert as well

    Kate

    June 3, 2010 at 12:18 am

    • Oh no that was really her FB profile? Shame on her…

      Lores

      June 3, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  3. I LOVE this post of yours about Sex in the City. I haven’t seen anything to do with this second one – hiding from it – but the first also fit your description. I had to turn it off halfway through it made me feel sick. Yet everyone raved about it! Yay I’m glad you feel the same about this poo film starring lots of animated poos, lol.

    frances

    June 14, 2010 at 6:57 am

    • Thanks! It really is such rot! 🙂

      Lores

      June 14, 2010 at 11:53 am

  4. A very entertaining read. It is always thrilling to see a fresh and challenging point of view on a programme which has been defined as the front runner in it’s subject matter.

    Leonora

    September 13, 2010 at 2:34 pm

  5. Leonora

    haha!

    I do assume you are joking…

    Laura 😉

    Lores

    September 17, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  6. […] a) there isn’t that much on that I feel is worth watching and b) the constant streams of unachievable stereotypes and advertising quite frankly insult my […]


Leave a Reply

