Maladjusted?

Doctors. Bleurgh.

with 3 comments

Urgh.  Doctors.

After my tres bleak blog post of last week I visited the doctor who suggested that I swap contraceptive pill immediately, and go for a blood test to check out the low blood sugar symptoms.

Although getting him to send me for a blood test was a bit like getting blood from a stone.  So to speak.  After I described my symptoms (dizziness, tiredness, excessive thirst, poor concentration), he told me that (and I quote) ‘…you are probably not eating enough…’ This was after he had just told me that ‘…your weight is ok for now, but if you put on any weight you will be in the ‘overweight’ catagory…’

Well that piece of advice was about as useful as an aspirin lifeboat.

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m not someone to skip a meal, so I put my food down and was granted the right to be stuck with a needle by the helpful nurse at the local PCT.  Unfortunately, they couldn’t find a vein straight away, so had to poke about for a bit – and because I bruise like a peach, I now look like a skag addict.

Ho hum.

On the plus side I’m feeling a lot less moody and depressed – so I do believe that these feelings were a result of the pill that I was on.  Now I just need to be told that my dizziness is a result of the weather / dehydration (which quite a few people have advised could be the case), and then I’ll have to find something else to complain about.

After all, hypochondria is the only illness I don’t have…

Written by Lores

July 22, 2010 at 10:01 am

Posted in On Health...

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope your feeling dizzy etc is just a side effect of the weird weather… but ‘overweight’ ?!! You are far from it, doctors speak their own language I swear
    I hope you feel better soon XX

    Kate

    July 28, 2010 at 11:41 am

    • Yeah I’m much better now, thanks Kate. The Dr did almost get a back hander from me for the overweight comment 🙂

      x

      Lores

      August 10, 2010 at 4:15 pm

  2. Yeah, Don’t get me started on doctors, or hormones, or the pill for that matter. Okay. Maybe I’ll just say nothing 🙂 hope you feel better.


Leave a Reply

