Maladjusted?

How TV ruined your life…

with 4 comments

A while back, when I was a regular(ish) blogger, I blogged about the reasons why I don’t watch much TV.  This is mainly because a) there isn’t that much on that I feel is worth watching and b) the constant streams of unachievable stereotypes and advertising quite frankly insult my intelligence.

However, my interest was piqued recently by news of a new TV programme, hosted by Charlie Brooker, which explores exactly why life doesn’t measure up to the expectations constantly rammed down your throat via the medium of TV and film.

Yes, the irony that ‘How TV ruined your life‘ is still a TV show hasn’t escaped me, but anything with Charlie Brooker is definitely worth watching anyway, and at least on BBC2 I won’t have to watch any adverts either.

Written by Lores

January 25, 2011 at 10:49 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting, just wondered – Would you prefer the Beeb to have adverts on it and not have to pay the £145.50 license fee, or is paying this fee ‘worthwhile’ due to the no advertising policy ?

    Brian

    January 25, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    • Tricky one. Can I have no adverts and no fee? 😛

      Ok ok…I realise that this isn’t feasible. But what would work best for me with BBC programmes would be to not have a license fee at all (obviously not own a TV either), and just pay a nominal fee for watching specific programmes online via iplayer.

      Lores

      January 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  2. I haven’t seen this, I’ll have to watch it… I don’t own a TV and I don’t miss it thanks to iPlayer/4OD etc, but whenever I’m around one I end up watching for the sake of it. ‘Worst Police Chases’ etc, that kind of thing… but thanks for this, will definitely check it out

    I’m glad you’re back to blogging, I’ve missed it ! XX

    Kate

    January 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

  3. Unplug the Signal people! Turn off the TV!
    Unplugthesignal.com

    RED BARON

    February 9, 2011 at 5:19 am


Leave a comment